Suffolk County Bowls Association

Affiliated to the English Bowling Federation


All content and images © Suffolk County Bowls Association                                   

President - Mr. Trevor Lord

President Elect - Mr. Barrie Davis

Chairman - Mr. Gary Pleasance

Secretary - Stuart Walsh

Sponsors of Suffolk County Bowls Association

In a tight encounter With Ipswich Bowling Club, Stowmarket Rookery BC were bidding for a hat trick of victories in the final of the Senior Cup at Laxfield Kings Head BC.  From the very start spectators knew that this would be a close encounter.  On two rinks, a gap in the scores developed, one for Rookery and one for Ipswich; but in the other two the lead swung from one club to the other.  With three rinks completed the scores were very close, Rookery needing 2 shots to win, but Ipswich were the first to put on the pressure with a very close bowl.  It was dislodged, but by another Ipswich bowl which simply replaced it, and with his last bowl the Rookery skip just failed to move either bowl or jack.  The result a two shot victory for Ipswich.  .  They will now go forward to represent Suffolk in the Durham Trophy.  It should be noted that Rookery will be playing in the final of this years competition at Skegness.  

The Senior Cup final was completed in fine weather with some sun shine, the same could not be said of the Junior Cup which was contested in rain for all its 25 ends.  In difficult conditions both teams bowled well and the scores were very close in the early and mid stages of the game.  A gap began to develop in the latter stages of the game with Otley taking the initiative, while the gap remained reasonably small, Margaret Catchpole could not close it; so Otley won by 11 shots and next year can look forward to competing in the Senior Cup.

- News 2

Ipswich Bowling Club Senior Cup winners with

County President John White

Otley  Bowls Club Junior Cup winners with

County President John White


Final Scores  

Senior Cup

Rookery 83  Ipswich 85

Junior Cup  

Otley 90 Margaret Catchpole 79